Getting Ready For Everton

3 Aug

Entrenamiento_en_UCLA (8)The boys had their last training session Friday before meeting Everton this evening in the ICC semi-finals. Hey, Marcelo, I see that headband you’re wearing and I approve!

Could Marcelo get more adorble? Probably not.

Could Marcelo get more adorable? Probably not.

Goalkeepers sure do make the darndest faces, don’t they?

Entrenamiento_tarde (2)Entrenamiento_tarde (3)
After the training fans who had the bought the  VIP package were treated to an autograph session with the whole team.

Meanwhile, Flo Peezy was keepin’ it real by hanging with the rest of the peeps.

Here’s some additional pictures of Sergio from, I believe, yesterday.

Marcelo was our sassy team spokesmodel at the presser. I just love his expressions! Here’s some video (in Spanish) so you can just enjoy his Marcelo-ness.


FROM REALMADRID.COM

Marcelo: “Every year I try to give my all for this club”

“It’s going to be a tough match against Everton. We always want to win and this time will be no different”, the Real Madrid defender said of the second match on this American tour

Marcelo appeared before the media for the first time this season. The Real Madrid defender, who won the Confederations Cup this summer, spoke of his personal situation in the team and discussed the second match on the American tour: “I’m very excited. Every year I’ve been in this team I’ve fought hard and tried to give my all for this club. This time is not going to be any different. At the beginning of the preseason, my ambition is always to win all the titles. It’s going to be a tough match against Everton. We always want to win and this time will be no different”.

Marcelo_en_rueda_de_prensa (4)Asked about Ancelotti and the atmosphere within the team, he commented: “We’re still getting to know each other. He seems like a really good guy and he’s a champion with a lot of experience. Hopefully, he’ll pass on all his knowledge and help us. We have new players but our outlook remains the same: to try to win all the titles and give the fans cause for celebration”. 

Marcelo_en_rueda_de_prensa (2)Regarding the rivalry with Coentrao and the possible departure of the Portuguese player, he pointed out: “I focus on the present moment. Coentrao is with us and I’m not thinking about anything else. I’m going to compete with him for the position, but I’ll try to help as much as possible. That’s what I know how to do. I consider myself the best because I’ve fought hard and earned a place in Real Madrid. That made me feel the best for my family but in terms of football, I play and you make up your minds”. 

Marcelo_en_rueda_de_prensaThe Brazilian also spoke of Zidane and Kaka, saying of the former: “He’s here to help us. We benefit from his experience and we have the chance to learn more from him in each training session”. He was even more specific when speaking of his compatriot: “I know him and he seems really good”.

Marcelo_en_rueda_de_prensa (3)Asked about Higuain’s departure, he stated: “Real Madrid is a top team and there will always be good players that come and go. If he’s come to an agreement with the club, I don’t have anything to add. I already said in twitter that I was going to miss him as a person”. With regards to the possible incorporation of Bale, he stated: “He’s a great player, who I’ve played against in the past. I don’t know him well and it’s a subject for the club to decide. I prefer not to speak of those that aren’t in the team. If he comes to Real Madrid, he’ll be welcomed”.

Marcelo_en_rueda_de_prensa (1)Marcelo also made reference to the Confederations Cup final between Brazil and Spain and his experience of the match: “You shouldn’t tease anyone because life is full of surprises. You have to respect your rival whether you win or lose. We beat the best team in the world”. Lastly, when asked about Barcelona he was to the point: “There’s no reason for me to talk about Barcelona. We’re in the preseason and we don’t have to focus on Barcelona right now”.

Xabi Alonso was interviewed by Adidas who asked him fan submitted questions. It looks like this may be a continuing feature as they suggest that you submit questions via Twitter. I’m sure we could come up with a few, eh? 😉

For such a sexy man, he just looks disgruntled and impatient in these photos. Perhaps he was, but these are not exactly the most flattering shots I’ve seen of Xabi.

Sadly, I’m going to be missing the match tonight as I have to go to the birthday dinner of a close friend. I’ll be peeking at  the scoreline on Twitter during the dinner though! I’m going to try to watch it later when I get home. Tomorrow, I’ll be heading off to the ICC East semi-finals with watishista forzasusan and meeting up with watishista Julia . Really looking forward to that!

– Lozil

20 Responses to “Getting Ready For Everton”

  1. Utd Girl August 3, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    I was at the training yesterday. This little boy kept yelling at Iker and after like 5 times, Iker was like shh. Haha it was so cute. Sergio by far is the sweetest guy. Every year, he’s one of the few who actually tries to sign lots of autographs. I was actually most excited about seeing Zizou!

    • headbandsandheartbreak August 3, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

      Aw! That’s adorable! Did you have a good time? Tell us the truth and don’t sugar coat it: how bad does Sese’s hair look in person?

      If I got anywhere near Zizou, I’d probably faint from his awesomeness. 🙂

      • Mehreh August 3, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

        I thought it looked better in person, and honestly, it was so sweet that he signed so many autographs, i didn’t mind his hair.

        Zizou is lovely in person. They all are! The only surprise was the baby giraffe, who is soooooooo skinny!

        • headbandsandheartbreak August 3, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

          Well, bebe giraffes are skinny, so it stands to reason. I mean, all of these guys are pretty thin. They’re mostly solid muscle with little body fat. I mean, Chori, who is (for the team) a big ass guy only weights 180 pounds and he’s 6’3″ Sergio weighs about 150.

      • Utd Girl August 3, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

        Haha yes it def looks better in person. I don’t even mind it anymore. With the sun in my face, he and Cris were def the easiest to spot beside Pepe and Marcelo. Omg Iker was in a not so great mood. I cannot believe how small Isco is. I thought he was taller.

        Honestly, I think the first time I saw them was the best because I was in complete shock. That was 3 years ago. Haha when I was leaving though, the bus was right in front of me and these guys who rented a convertible were majorly stalking cause they only put the top down right before they turned to the hotel. Haha I so would’ve stalked, but I already had to drag my brother to go with me in the first place.

        It was def weird not seeing Pipa! He was always so adorable.

      • Utd Girl August 3, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

        Oh, Sergio tripped when they were doing drills, haha it was so cute. Lol he just smiled it off and waved at everyone. I wish I recorded it. I was listening to the videos I recorded and I’m embarrasses of hearing my voice. Haha totally fangirling trying to do a Spanish accent saying their names.

        • Mehreh August 3, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

          I felt bad laughing at him tripping, but eh. He’s a big boy he can handle it. I knew I should have gone to their hotel for a drink last night! Xabi and sergio took a picture with two blondes I’m very jealous of.

  2. Mehreh August 3, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

    Iker looked and acted very grouchy yesterday. I hope he’s in better spirits today! The training was a bit of a cluster, but I’m soooooooooooo glad I went.

    • headbandsandheartbreak August 3, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

      Oooh, full report please!

      • Mehreh August 3, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

        Ramos signed a bunch of non VIP autographs, so did pepe.

        Tomas meijas is incredibly cute and tall and lovely in person. I was sitting by the kid iker shushed and we all had a giggle. Iker’s bald spot is getting pretty noticeable. The guy next to me asked if it was always like that. I said,”oh son, have you not seen his hair plugs?”

        Arbie seemed a little checked out or low energy or something, but I’ve read he might be going to Napoli to join the rest of the gang so that makes sense.

        Illarra mostly ran laps and stretched, and the coaching assistants hugged each other while the players did their inter squad thing. It was quite cute. Flotsam and jetsam were covered by a hat! Disappointment!

        I saw xabi as I was leaving and he was signing an autograph. I said his name (louder than I thought I did, I suppose) and he looked up and waved at me. So, we are now married. I will gladly share him with nago.

        • Utd Girl August 3, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

          Hahaha omg I was screaming at Sergio when they carted him off and I went to the end where nobody was before turning and I when he looks and smiles, I just die. I swear these boys KILL US! I’m Man Utd through and through, but Sergio is just perfection and the players on Real, I love.

  3. la-la August 3, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

    I am LOVING the on the spot reporting. Seriously I sometimes think that I’ve imagined these guys. Hope that all our watishistas in da field had fun (and where age appropriate), shit, giggles & adult beverages…photos pls! xx

    • Mehreh August 4, 2013 at 5:48 am #

      Later I will fully report on what happened tonight at the Beverly Hills hotel. So much RM goodness!

      • Dr. Heidi August 4, 2013 at 10:49 am #

        oh girl, do TELL!!!!

        • jellyace August 4, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

          PLEEEEZE DO!

  4. mygypsyspirit August 4, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

    I do so love RM stories 😀

  5. Dr. Heidi August 5, 2013 at 10:33 am #

    We’re waiting……*foot tapping*…….give me some dirt!

  6. Anonymous August 7, 2013 at 1:24 am #

    Check out this picture i took of Cris grabbing Benzemas butt in LA http://staygoldponyboyy.tumblr.com/image/57572787999

    • headbandsandheartbreak August 7, 2013 at 10:52 am #

      HA! That’s fabulous! Thanks so much for sharing it. Wish you had logged in with a user name so I could credit you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meet Real Madrid CF: Benz, Arbeloa & Kaka | Of Headbands and Heartbreak... - August 12, 2013

    […] that Adidas interview with Xabi? Well, there’s a few more to catch up on, namely Karim, Arbeloa & Kaka.  (See? […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.