Curses Are Made To Be Broken

16 Mar

And so this one was…  Real Madrid beat Lyon 3-0 to secure a spot in the Champions League quarter-finals for the first time in 7 years. HALA MADRID! Los Blancos were men on a mission right from the very start and the crowd at the Santiago Bernabeu sang and cheered the boys the whole way through.

The evening, however, began on a somber and contemplative note…

A tribute was held and a moment of silence observed for Japan. Real Madrid again wore black armbands in respect for the devastation and suffering of the Japanese nation. And please, if you can, make a donation to the Red Cross or the charity of your choice – so much help is needed right now and every dollar counts. No donation is too small, folks. (Seriously, I work in the non-profit field and you’d be surprised by how much the little donations add up. People think that their modest amount can’t possibly count, but I assure you it does. Think of it this way: your dollar is one that they didn’t have before. So, please, if you can, give. It feels good to help!)

The teams started fast and furious. There were several possible chances, but no one managed to get past goalie Hugo Lloris (Someone cracked me up on Twitter last game saying  “Hugo Lloris is AWESOME on House! ;-)”)  until Marcelo released this little beauty (with an assist from Crispy) at 37′ to score and break the deadlock (Marcelo was on fire the whole game):


He was so thrilled (me too, I screamed like a freak!) I don’t know who was more excited – Marcelo or Pepe! Look at these two!

Poor Sergio got completely mashed in the middle of those two. Hope they didn’t break his nose again. And Marcelo, please be careful with your cleats in the second picture or Maisougio will be VERY unhappy with you.

Benz almost scored at 40′ but Hugo Lloris made a GREAT save. He did score at 42′ but it was obviously offside. Bah! We came back for the second half ready to kick some more arse but it was a hard fought contest. But finally – FINALLY – the third time was the charm at 65′ for Benzema!

Seriously, that has to be one of the most uncomfortable positions EVER. My knees and back are aching just looking at Lloris. OUCH.

Benz had a rather subdued celebration (but not THAT subdued) when he scored against his former team.  He almost scored AGAIN a minute later, but Lloris denied him again with a beautiful save.  It was do or die for Lyon at this point. They really needed to score. Mou took Cristiano out at 74′ and sent Manu in.  I think it was a good decision, Crispy didn’t look 100%, IMHO.

Mou gave him a little grimace of sympathy as he came off. Rest, Crispy, honey! We need you at the top of your game when we meet Barca. DiMaria put the final nail in Lyon’s coffin 2 minutes later with an assist from Mesut.

Of course, this earned him a huge hug from Marcelo. I bet he gives the best hugs, don’t you think? Mou took Fideo out at 79′ and gave us a little El Pirata action. I think that Mou is a secret wa-tishista! quite frankly.

Mmmmm, piratey goodness!  Mou took Benz out (to a big ovation from the crowd) at 84′ and sent Lass in. At this point, they were just keeping the ball away from Lyon until the final whistle. After the final whistle, both teams made a very classy gesture. They all took off their jerseys to reveal t-shirts that said “Animo Abidal” – A message of support for Barcelona defender Eric Abidal who was diagnosed with a liver tumor on Tuesday.

Mou said  “These things are bigger than any rivalries. We’re all with him, we all want this to end well. We all want Abidal to play football, for Abidal to be healthy. We all think this and we all feel this.” Marcelo echoed his comments: “I wish to express my support for Abidal and his family. Rivalry steps aside when things like this happen. What matters is that he recovers as soon as possible.”  Abidal will undergo surgery tomorrow.  We  here at HB & HB wish him the best and hope that everything goes well.

So, we’re on to the quarter finals. I wonder who we will draw?

And now, it’s time for Put On Your Game Face!

The caption on this picture is “Lisandro discusses with Pepe…” That is…doubtful, especially if you saw their mid-air collision. Pepe jumped insanely high and basically knocked Lisandro out with his hip. Lisandro took a major knock to the head. Of course, the TV had to replay it about 100 times. I can’t even imagine what words they are using to “discuss” the incident here. Pepe needed to chill a bit. He was a tad out of control this game.

The Other CrispyKarim. Lyon’s Cris decides to try a little light restraint on Benz. Wonder if our Crispy is jealous?


Nice boot-ay, Benz! You’ve got some serious junk in the trunk and we heartily approve.

This is not going to end well for poor Rico!  The picture is hilarious. Carvalho is “airing and sharing” his Ricoberries. Yoann is riveted by the sight while Xabi is shrieking in horror. What is really horrifying is that the caption misidentified Yoann as Cesar Delgado. Grizzled Cesar Delgado! Seriously, would you mix these two up?!

Yeah, I didn’t think so. I guess we’re just much better at analyzing boys here at HB & HB. We would never make such a mistake.


Lookin’ a leetle bit shifty there, Mou! What’s that about, eh? You look like a criminal.

Mesut just looked super pretty in this shot so I couldn’t resist adding it.

A few more bits and bobs…

These satiric paper mache figures of Barca coach Pep Guardiola and Mou are part of Valencia’s Las Fallas Fiesta which is a week long party with fireworks and processions honoring St. Joseph. When it ends on midnight of March 19, they burn the large paper mache figures that are displayed all over the city.

The Ozil Love Train continues to chug steadily down the track and The Ramos made us all very happy by telling FIFA.com that he’d like to stay at Real Madrid for life.

Next up his weekend is our derby vs. Atleti!  HALA MADRID!

22 Responses to “Curses Are Made To Be Broken”

  1. suzanne March 16, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    ladies! i am soooooooo glad i found this site through una! you are superb and must live in my head! can’t believe we won (well, i can, but i have only been a madridista for 5 years…so this is new to me) marcelo…on fire indeed! and i love pirata action…mou knew it was my bday week (i mean, hello…we all get a week am i right?!) and i will gladly fight in pudding for the honor of pirata’s love interest (damn you pilar) on to atletiscum! 11 complete years is coming loves!!

    • headbandsandheartbreak March 16, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

      Welcome to our insanity and thank you for saying such nice things! Happy Birthday! (and yes, you do get a week. I always celebrate mine for at least that long.)

      I fear that pudding is going to get seriously crowded, We’re going to have to have our own version of the Champions League for the honor of being El Pirata’s treasure chest.

      Isn’t una awesome? I’m such a gushing fangirl for her. She is amazing.

  2. suzanne March 16, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    awww, thanks!!
    i was lost in a sea of male blogs (besides kickette) til una came along last season. she saved my sanity!! (there are WAY to many blaugranas over at kickette! :P)
    i am willing to duke it out over el pirata :9 as i’m sure the lust of my life on the team (el ramos) is supremely taken. and esteban is so….smart…and such a yummy hipster 😀
    very excited to have female footy fans who love the game and the ballers to snark and chat with! HALA MADRID!!

    • headbandsandheartbreak March 16, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

      Yeah, I know what you mean. I don’t play partisan. I respect all teams although I love mine best, you know? But some of those ladies are flat out aggressive about it and it cuts down on the fun. 😦 Hey, I can admit to perving on Yoann, but I refused to make him a Daily Drool until we knocked them out of Champions League. 🙂 I’m big on ‘don’t hate, appreciate’ I can’t imagine we’d get alot of Barca fans here, but since we all love La Roja, I’m guessing that we’ll get some occasional crossover, so I try to keep things chill. I think we should all join hands and perv together! 😉 But that said, HALA MADRID! Male blogs can be a bummer because A. They think you can’t know shit about football because you have lady bits and B. the only reason you stick up for Crispy is because he is hot. Bullshit. Trust me, my hormones don’t cloud my judgment that much. If someone is hot, they’re hot, but if they play like shit, I’ll be the first to admit it.

      Do you follow El Pirata’s twitter? He makes me squeal on a daily basis with the stuff he posts. He’s just…dreamy. ::eyes pudding wrestling tights::

      We’re glad you found us too – so feel free to snark and perv away. – Lozil

      PS Yes, The Ramos is extremely taken on this blog. You do NOT want to step to Maisougio. That bitch be scaaaaary when it comes to her man! 😉

      • Maisoun March 17, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

        “You do NOT want to step to Maisougio. That bitch be scaaaaary when it comes to her man!”

        –YUP! I have the words “Sergio is MINE!” engraved on my brass knuckles 😛 We’re big on Girl Code here at HB&HB! ;D

    • GinaM March 17, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

      I have to agree with you too Suzanne kickette turned into a ware zone but I love all the lovely footy gossip and naked-ness lol.

      I’d like to say this is an awesome blog too! Great job ladies love your feed and every morning when I come to work first thing I do is check updates on your site and una’s!

      Keep it coming ladies 🙂 Totally my coffee in the morning 😉

      • headbandsandheartbreak March 17, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

        Aw! You’re too sweet, Gina! It’s an honor to be checked first thing in the AM. I’m the same way with certain websites (definitely una!) I’ll try to make sure that I have images worthy of waking y’all up. 😉 (That’s why I schedule The Daily Drool to post at 6 AM Eastern. That way I have something to wake up to!)

      • suzanne March 17, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

        agreed about the war zone gina. most of the girls are nice, but when we got mou it upped the ante on the hate they sometimes spew. anyways happier notes…it is hard to turn down the nakedness of the ballers!! 😉

        just a nudge in a good direction as far as drooling daily. though it is blasphemous to say, there is a certain mexican goal keeper who is moi caliente if you know what i mean…and i know that you do. just a suggestion ;D lol

        • headbandsandheartbreak March 17, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

          Oh hey, you gotta say which Mexican goalkeeper – there are a few cute ones! I’m happy to entertain all sorts of nominations for The Daily Drool, so please speak up!

          • suzanne March 17, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

            guillermo “memo” ochoa yummmmmmmm

            • headbandsandheartbreak March 17, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

              I was guessing Ochoa, but I wanted to make sure! Didn’t know if you meant National Team or club goalie. I’ll add him to the list!

  3. Andrea March 16, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    So excited about this result!! I was at work (I’m thankful I have a job that allows me to see a game every now and then, but do you know how difficult it is to show restraint and not shriek in delight when they score?), but did not have the best online feed. However, I did manage to see Marcelino’s goal and a few minutes here and there. Thrilled for him and the entire squad. Onto the next…HALA MADRID!

    P.S. That pic of restrained Benz is pretty hot. Just sayin’…

    🙂

    • headbandsandheartbreak March 16, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

      Heh! I like that picture too, Andrea! How about the booty shot? Very nice indeed!

      I was working from home today (not something I planned on, but it worked out very well in the end), so I had the feed going on my laptop while I was working, so I could whoop and cheer. Usually, I’m sitting at my desk and watching with the sound off or my headphone so I can hear the audio feed and I try not to shriek out loud. Shiggers and I were flying back from New Orleans in November and I had a couple of games on my laptop that I hadn’t been able to watch. She decided to sleep on the way back to NYC and I watched the matches. I kinda forgot where I was because I scared a few people around us with ill timed whoops and cussing. I tend to flail while watching the game as well (I’m very Italian and use my hands all the time while speaking). They probably thought that I had Tourette’s or something. Argh.

      • GinaM March 17, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

        I was watching the game at work too ladies, would you like me to send you some links to free streams that are HD as well? 🙂 I like in Vancouver Canada so I don’t know if it will work everywhere but it’s worth a try.

        I was soooooo happy, this game was wonderful. Full of talent beautiful plays and of course I loved how at the end the players displayed their support for Eric Abidal. BTW my prayers and wishes are sent to Eric Abidal and his family, I hope he recovers soon and is back on the pitch soon.

        Have a great week Ladies!
        Gina 🙂

        • headbandsandheartbreak March 17, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

          Feel free to send on some reputable sites. I was so happy to see Marcelo score (Karim and Angel too)! It was a good game.

          Abidal should be out of surgery – I’m keeping an eye out for news of how it went.

          • Andrea March 17, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

            I would love some links to some HD sites! I have a fave that I use at home, but unfortunately it’s blocked at work. I think my IT manager might be onto me lol.

            Hope Abidal makes it through okay. Very sad news, but I was glad to see the show of support that RM and Lyon displayed yesterday.

          • Maisoun March 17, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

            Looks like Abidal’s surgery was a success! This was tweeted earlier today.
            http://ow.ly/1bOls6

            • headbandsandheartbreak March 17, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

              So happy to hear this! But he’s out for the rest of the season for sure. Having had laproscopic surgery three times myself, you can’t even lift anything heavy for a minimum of a month, much less run around and take hits. 😦

  4. Maisoun March 17, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    Im a little late but Im just going to let out a nice long WOOOOOOOOOOT!!!!! 😀 See I just KNEW this game was going to be good, whenever there’s yummy pregame moments the boys always do well!

    Yes, I agree if Marcelo’s cleats are going to be a danger to my man & HIS man…then he should approach Sergio from behind next time 😛 Though after seeing the pics, I couldnt help but think that WHEN (not if) I see The Ramos I’ll probably do the same exact thing!…Jump on him then drag him away…Happily Ever After 😉

    • headbandsandheartbreak March 17, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      He shouldn’t put his cleats in dat ass either! Both front and back of The Ramos should be designated national treasures! I’m saving bail money for when you first meet Sergio. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. El Pirata Interview! « Of Headbands and Heartbreak… - March 18, 2011

    […] Pirata was the latest to get the Real Madrid TV interview treatment. You can read excerpts here and check out additional pictures. Some interesting things: He speaks English. His brother is […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.