Quick Bits and Bobs – UPDATED

4 May

The day here in NYC is just as rainy and gloomy as it was at Camp Nou yesterday.  However, I look far less appealing in wet clothing, so I’m staying inside, drinking tea and pouting because it’s cold.

Iker showing why he’s the best in the world yesterday

So I hope everyone has recovered from the last of the Clasicos and is getting ready for Saturday’s game with Sevilla. I know HermosaChica and Maisougio are looking forward to starting at Martin Caceres! (Pervs!) 😉  BREAKING NEWS: Michael Jakobsen from Almeria kicked Martin Caceres in the face! You don’t do that shit to The Pretty (or anyone), dude.

Anyhow, unamadridista did a round up of yesterday’s game and she reported some disturbing things. Apparently some of the cules at Camp Nou (and obviously, I don’t mean ALL) were making monkey noises at Manu and Marcelo.  Not cool, people, not cool.  Also, Iker was seen to make “¡vaya cara!” gestures twice which apparently means “how shameless” – this involves patting your face.  According to una, AS is reporting that Iker may be investigated by UEFA for these gestures. If this is true, it’s bullshit especially since it appears that nothing is being done about the Busquets generation. If you’re going to investigate Iker, you have to investigate the Busquets allegations as well.  I guess we will have to wait and see what happens, but seriously, if they don’t probably deal with the Busquets allegations, I’m going to go ballistic. You can read all about una’s thoughts on the game here.  Within that post, she also has a link to a short video with Mesut’s mother and sister.

Who Ate All The Pies has pictures of Crispy and Mou showing their feelings about the disallowed goal with a hand gesture (which I have to agree with – it should have stood – most of the commenters on Pies agree) and a video of Marcelo’s slide tackle on Messi. I can’t believe how wet the pitch was! It looks like a water park fun ride.

The Guardian is reporting that Mou will stay another season at Madrid and they also have a round up of the Spanish media.

The Mirror featured some of the funniest tweets from yesterday’s game, while columnist Darren Lewis took on the subject of racism (and confirmed the monkey chants at Camp Nou) in the sport.  Sigh. Very depressing.

The Wall Street Journal published a surprising smack at Barca today, citings stats. Whether you agree or not, it’s an interesting read.

And The Dirty Tackle has posted If It Continued…  for the second leg. Hee!

40 Responses to “Quick Bits and Bobs – UPDATED”

  1. suzanne May 4, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    when i read that on una’s blog i was absolutely disgusted. more than a club my effing ass. i am so glad this is over. perhaps things can calm down before we play them again. i worry about la roja’s future endeavors involving teammates. bravo to xabi who says he doesn’t talk about teammates. xavi, pay attention on how to be classy.
    sevilla, one of my favorite teams!!! (obvs with the exception of water bottle throwing fans) and how DARE someone kick the pretty >:O i heard sevilla’s going to buy him which would make me happy. too many ill feelings towards barca players atm so him not being on loan from them makes me forget he ever was one of them 🙂
    i’ve come to believe that nothing will be done or investigated with busquets which is absolutely pathetic and disgusting. hell nothing will probably be done against barca with the pitch invader >:O but iker will probably be fined and banned. sorry, i just hate uefa right now.
    gooooooo schalke and former merengues today!! that would be easier than saying :cough: glory, glory man utd on the 28th 😉

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 4, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      Well, get used to singing that one. The score is 2-1 right now, but the aggregate is 4-1. C’mon Schalke!

    • GinaM May 4, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

      I am trying to calm myself down and forget the last couple of Clasicos It’s sad to see our team be treated the way they were, and the other team scream out that they were the ones that played ‘football’ or racist slurs being shoved under the rug. I used to have alot of respect for Barca and their players but not after this season. The worst part of the whole ordeal, none from UEFA will do anything about it. It’s sad.

      • GinaM May 4, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

        sorry I shouldn’t say all of Barca cause I still like a few of them.

  2. HermosaChica May 4, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Ooooh my. Sevilla is one feisty team. I want absolutely no injuries, but I wouldn’t mind seeing some dude action, if you know what I mean.. 😉

    Lol, you think that facial was bad? Check out what Sexy-Man Llorente did to poor Martin:

    Yeah.. 😦

    I love how I’m going to completely ignore the negative reports in this post. Football’s my happy place, so I don’t even want to think about the ugly things that happen on the side..

    • suzanne May 4, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      awww, poor matin 😦

      still sexy even minus the tooth 😉
      deigo thinks it’s hilarious. so does his teammate on the pitch. lol. poor guy 😦

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 4, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

      I love how he was trotting around holding his tooth in his hand for ages. Then he’s all like “Oh hey, can you please hold this tooth of mine that Llorente knocked out with his super tall guy elbow?” They are mean to laugh at him!

      • Maisoun May 4, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

        Lmao & thats why their shorts should have pockets! A safe place for knocked out teeth…and little love letters to pass on to opposing players 😉

        • headbandsandheartbreak May 4, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

          Dear Jailbait! –

          I love you. Do you love me? Don’t tell El Pirata I sent you this or he’ll kick my ass and quote Lorca at me.

          xoxo
          Bojan

        • headbandsandheartbreak May 4, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

          Lio –

          They can never know of our secret love. We must keep up this competitive front!

          But when we are alone and the cameras are gone…

          …you me fuck fuck?

          Love now and forever,
          Cristiano

          • Maisoun May 4, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

            OUCH! My heart is too sore to read love letters between our players &…that team’s players!

            but “you me fuck fuck?” I needed the laugh that caused! lol never gets old 😉

            • headbandsandheartbreak May 4, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

              Well, you said “opposing players” If it were ones on our own team, poor Mesut wouldn’t be able to run because his pants would be so stuffed with love notes (from Cris, Sami, Pipita, Benz, Sergio, etc.). He would probably then weigh about 100 pounds. 😉 Here – I’ll make you feel better. Here’s one between our boys:

              Dear Jailbait! –

              Together we are inspirational! We are muses to millions of fic writing fan girls. Our love is so pure that sometimes I sit around the house strumming Dylan tunes on my guitar and think about weeping. But then I get myself together, artfully muss my hair, slip on a pea coat and head down to the local coffee house. There I sit and write odes to your cheekbones in my Moleskine notebook. During the off season, I will paint an abstract masterpiece and dedicate it to you, you blonde slightly freckled piece of wonderful.

              Our love is god. Let’s go get a slushy.*
              xoxo El Pirata

              PS Bonus points if you get the hipster movie reference x

              • Maisoun May 4, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

                Forgot this was an el clasico recap! Martin Caceres was stuck in my head, Im already in Sevilla mode 😛

                But yes I did enjoy that letter! “you blonde slightly freckled piece of wonderful.” LOVE IT!

                ..no bonus points for me Im afraid…but me, the google slut, found the movie & will watch asap..so do I get points for that? 🙂

                • headbandsandheartbreak May 4, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

                  It’s one of my fave movies of all time. I think I can quote over 85% of it. Bitchy snarky humor, ftw. I’m betting El Pirata has watched it a few times.

              • suzanne May 4, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

                lol. you have me in stiches tonight. AMAZINGly hilarious 🙂 finishing papers agrees with you 😉

                • headbandsandheartbreak May 4, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

                  🙂 I’m already working on another paper. Bah humbug! Hopefully, I can get this one out of the way quicker than the last one.

                  • suzanne May 4, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

                    yuck!! last finals tomorrow and fri for me…for 3 whole weeks!! :sarcasticexcitement:

                    • headbandsandheartbreak May 5, 2011 at 12:00 am #

                      Congrats! I’m on quarters – so I finish on June 7th and start up again on June 20th. Ugh.

          • suzanne May 4, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

            falling on the floor laughing at that one

      • suzanne May 4, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

        i love how he kept showing everyone. lol!
        poor llorente. everyone’s just at perfect elbow level for him! lol!

        off to daydream about love letters and ballers now. lol!

    • suzanne May 4, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

      NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!
      martin is out for the rest of the season b/c of the clash 😦 lacerated kidney 😦

      • headbandsandheartbreak May 4, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

        Oh crap! How did he get a lacerated kidney from that? Was it how he fell? Poor bb! 😦

        • suzanne May 4, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

          i wondered the same thing. i haz a sad 😦

          did you know he’s married with a 2 yr old?! he’s such a bb himself!!

          • headbandsandheartbreak May 4, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

            I didn’t know that! I bet that’s one cute bb.

            • suzanne May 5, 2011 at 12:02 am #

              here names martina…awwwwww!!!

              • headbandsandheartbreak May 5, 2011 at 12:04 am #

                Adorbs! If you ever find a piccy, I’d love to see the little woobins.

                • suzanne May 5, 2011 at 12:24 am #

                  while i search…this is niiiiiice
                  martin and wine…is there anything better?

                  • headbandsandheartbreak May 5, 2011 at 12:26 am #

                    Oh hey there! I would have figured him for a red wine drinker, personally! But, yum!

  3. Dylan May 4, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Just thought I’d give my two cents on the racism issue:
    I’m ashamed of every Barcelona “fan” that would ever make a racist comment at ANYONE. Racism has no place in the world and certainly not in football. There were monkey chants towards Dani Alves at the Bernabeu as well. UEFA need to do something about this. NOW. The ones in Camp Nou, the ones in the Bernabeu and even Busquets (if it’s proven) need to be dealt with severely. I’m sick of things like this happening in the “beautiful game”. It’s shameful.

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 4, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

      I couldn’t agree more, Dylan. The UEFA really needs to get their shit together. The people doing this need to be punished no matter who they are. Alves shouldn’t have had to put up with that either. No one should. And those Madridistas who yell things like that (along with the ones who had the Shakira effigy, etc. in that article I poste a couple of weeks ago) are complete arseholes and shame the escudo of Real Madrid. Did you read the Mirror article in the round up above? I was pretty appalled at some of the things in there as well.

      There is no excuse for it. Can you imagine going to work and trying to do your job only to have people yell criticism at you constantly, throw shit at you, yell racial slurs and shine lasers in your eyes? That’s what these players have to deal with all the time. The pressure must be enormous. (On the flip side, you’d make millions, have a super model girlfriend and get to grope the likes of Sergio Ramos during goal celebrations, but I digress…)

      In all seriousness, they need to address this. Sticking a “Repect” patch on the uniform is not enough. I think we should all continue to write to the UEFA asking for action and stiffer penalties on all incidents of racism, not just the Busquets one. That said, they really, really need to investigate. Period.

      Oh and congrats on your team progressing to the finals. It’s going to be an interesting match up.

      • Dylan May 4, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

        I’ll harrass UEFA personally if that’s what it takes 😉

        I’m mixed-raced through my maternal side and I’ve been on the receiving end of racist comments. If Busquets made those comments towards Marcelo, I hope he’s never allowed to pull on a Barcelona jersey again. Anyone that knows me knows I have very little time for him anyway with his antics on the pitch, but I have NO time for racists living in the Dark Ages. To make any comments based on anything such as gender, race and sexual orientation is just…. eurgh. I don’t even have words for it. To be frankly honest though, UEFA and FIFA are both jokes as organisations. Blatter and Platini are jokes of people if they can’t see that something needs to be done.

        On a lighter note- thank you! The second leg was far better than the first. Still some diving, but at least nothing like it was. Ironically, my childhood team is Manchester United. I was raised in Trafford (minutes away from Old Trafford) before being adopted into a Barcelona supporting family and moving to Barcelona. Should certainly be an interesting match! 😛

        • headbandsandheartbreak May 4, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

          Oooh, you will be so torn in the final! Who did you root for during the last time they met?

          In my Busquets post, I put the email for UEFA so harrass away – I hope everyone will. I’m with you – I have absolutely no tolerance for this kind of bullshit. Blatter and Platini should be strung up by their balls – they’re a joke.

          • Dylan May 5, 2011 at 4:10 am #

            Manchester Utd have been my team since I was five, I’ve known Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes and Sir Alex longer than I’ve known my parents! 😛 I’ll always have just a *smidgen* more love for them, but I can’t say I’d be crushed if Barcelona won, so it’s win-win for me 😉

            I’ve sent them a “strongly-worded email”. I think they got the point. I just pray that idiots don’t vote for Blatter again. Eurgh.

            • headbandsandheartbreak May 5, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

              Wonder if Rio will kick Busquets arse? He had some choice things to say about him on Twitter.

              Both Blatter and Platini need to go. They’re morons! I’m glad you sent the email. I may send another one. I never got even a form response to the first one.

              • Dylan May 5, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

                Haha, Rio will keep his #stayonyourfeet movement growing strong! He’s been picking players up by their scruffs for weeks! 😛

                Biscuits best watch himself, Vidic is a tough cookie. If he goes down for nothing, he better prepare himself for a whole load of something…

  4. kfunk22 May 4, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    this had me snort coffee all over my work computer. now the keys are all sticky.

    @MirrorFootball: Carles Puyol: 100 games in the Champions League; 256 gigs as chief roadie for the Scorpions

    as for dirty tackle? funnier the first time around.

    what a grey and soggy day! but i do love my rainboots and trenchcoat. makes me feel all harriet the spy.

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 4, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      I loved that Puyol one too. The 1st leg Dirty Tackle one was definitely funnier. Aw, Harriet the Spy! I was all rainbooted and parkaed up today. The weather bouncing back and forth all the time is wreaking havoc on my allergies. Ugh.

  5. shiggers May 5, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Just read Dirty Tackle and laughed until I cried. Way better than starting out crying. Thanks for posting.

  6. maddy May 5, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    i came across a beautiful article written by a cule. a must read

    http://www.barcelonafootballblog.com/8834/busquets-allegations-aka-mes/

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 5, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

      Great article, but many of the comments made me sad. Just a lot of excuses. I would really feel better if something was said by UEFA, by the club, etc.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.